Diamonds are Forever

New to the site? Introduce yourself!

Diamonds are Forever

Postby Piston Broke on Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:20 pm

Shirley Bassey sings the praises of Mitsubishi in James Bond "Diamonds Are Forever" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwbEuzJCnqI (1971)

Hi all, my first Mitsi Ute added to my growing stable of two work horses - the first (Bravo) having been passed down a generation to my son.
Picked up an MQ as a runout model in June and happy with it so far.
Though the ali tray still doesn't fit a standard metric sheet and didn't come with a rear ladder rack which was the first accessory - no, definitely a mod - that I had to make urgently for work purposes (I climb ladders for a living).
The bent tube and tray top boots I ordered online turned up promptly and installed it myself except I didn't like how much room the boot took up. So I found that a 25x25 aluminium length fits pefectly inside the 65mm tube to create a square pin or peg for the square hole I handcut into the tray. After bolting sturdy angle brackets under the tray, the pegs slide snugly into position which are finally secured with a bolt & wing-nut. The tube ends sit squarely on the deck with little movement and at the right height to accomodate my ladders. So it's off to work I go - Hi Ho, Hi Ho.

Job two was to fit under tray tool boxes, from the same online order, up against the cab for my ropes and spare petrol container. The RHS box was installed firstly and I was about to fit the LHS and realised that's where the fuel filler pipe is - duh! So the plan is to cut the back off the tool box and have it as a false front, hiding the petrol cap, so both sides of the ute will match. Filling up at the servo will mean opening the box before unlocking the cap - and by the time I manage that, the price of fuel will've gone up again !