Odd power loss issue - 07 GLXR

Anything Triton related

Odd power loss issue - 07 GLXR

Postby AussieRob78 on Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:57 pm

Hey folks, could do with a little advice

My Triton randomly loses power, can be fine for weeks and then happen a few times in a day. It doesn't cut out or become un-driveable, but when you put the foot down it doesn't rev hard or accelerate much. The turbo still spins up though. To rectify it, I pull up at lights / pull over, shut the engine off and restart, and it's fine.

It has thrown the standard P0106 code twice since I have had it, but after cleaning the MAP sensor and resetting the code, the CEL did not come back on for a couple of thousand km, even when the power loss issue occurred.

The fact that it's rectified by shutting the engine off and restarting says to me it must be a sensor issue.. but I'm no mechanic!

Anyone had the same issue? Any thoughts?
¡dləɥ pəəu ı 'sıɥʇ pɐəɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

2007 ML Triton Dual Cab
Ironman suspension with a 2 inch lift
3 inch Mantra exhaust
AussieRob78

Re: Odd power loss issue - 07 GLXR

Postby coughy on Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:03 pm

have you checked the throttle body to make sure it isnt getting stuck with the black sludge ???
as i have heard of the throttle body can do it
have yoou got a scan gauge or anything like that to see what pressures and so on are doing??
maybe even the scv is getting sticky
Read this First ;) ;)Then still cant find what you are after
Use this Second ;) ;)Then still no Joy Go Here
Look in this thread 8-) 8-)
coughy
Platinum Subscriber

Postby AussieRob78 on Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:08 pm

No scangauge as yet, but I do have a dongle coming soon to run with torque, so hopefully that will shed some light on it.

I haven't checked the throttlebody yet, no. Haven't really been sure where to start.

And SCV? What's that? (yeah... i know... I'm a n00b... hahaha)

2007 ML Triton Dual Cab
3 inch Mantra exhaust
AussieRob78

Postby Naff on Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:21 pm