HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Lee-thal on Mon May 28, 2012 3:00 pm

Hoping some of you guys migth have some good ideas.

To thos of you that know my Triton i have 2 aerials currently mounted between the Sports Bar supports. With the New addition to the family i have decided to put a Canopy on the car. This leaves me with a Dilmena with the Aerials.

I hate Aerials on the bonnet or nudge bar but i cannot see a way to mount the aerials anywhere else. I cannot mount to the roof because of height reasons. I was thinking of mounting to the Side of the Canopy but cannot see how i can do it and still look ok.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

I would post a photo but have no idea how. There is one in my shed of current.

Cheers
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am


 

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Lee-thal on Mon May 28, 2012 3:05 pm

Sorry the photos werent there so i have added them, Note the sports bars have been removed prior to canopy install.

Thanks in advance
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby shotgun283 on Mon May 28, 2012 4:01 pm

i dunno mate, think your out of options, mine are on the bullbar, after a while you dont notice them
LIFE'S TO SHORT
User avatar
shotgun283
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:52 pm
Location: Arthurton, Yorke Peninsula, South Australia

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby killa on Mon May 28, 2012 4:59 pm

I have one of these for sale if it suits?

http://www.laser-antenna.com/product.php?product_id=224
Cheers,

Cal
User avatar
killa
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Cowboy Dave on Mon May 28, 2012 5:15 pm

Geek got his antenna mounted to a bracket on the bottom bar of the nudge bar (before he got the xrox). It was short enough that it didn't protrude far beyond the line of the bonnet. Might be one way to reduce the impact of it.
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.

The two threads I wish people would use more: thing 1 and thing 2.
User avatar
Cowboy Dave
Moderator
 
Posts: 18098
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby al coholic on Mon May 28, 2012 5:26 pm

You cant fabricate a small bracket and have the aerials still between cab and canopy???....seeing as your cable is already run in that area?? Should be just enough room........



Or just mount it on the front like a normal person :P :lol:
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything important, it's too late to stop reading it.
User avatar
al coholic
 
Posts: 7823
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:04 pm
Location: NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Naff on Mon May 28, 2012 5:33 pm

Flex of the canopy might be a problem with that idea alco...
User avatar
Naff
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Cowboy Dave on Mon May 28, 2012 5:35 pm

Depends on the canopy - I can fit my arm in the gap between mine and the cab so those little aerials would fit - not sure whether that will be the same with this one. Query though whether putting it too close to the back of the cab will reduce the effectiveness of the aerials?

What brand of canopy are we talking?
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.

The two threads I wish people would use more: thing 1 and thing 2.
User avatar
Cowboy Dave
Moderator
 
Posts: 18098
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby al coholic on Mon May 28, 2012 6:22 pm

Cowboy Dave wrote:Depends on the canopy - I can fit my arm in the gap between mine and the cab so those little aerials would fit - not sure whether that will be the same with this one. Query though whether putting it too close to the back of the cab will reduce the effectiveness of the aerials?

What brand of canopy are we talking?

I actually just thought of the interference factor too........probably not the best solution?? Although the whole car is metal isnt it :lol: So how much difference does it make??
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything important, it's too late to stop reading it.
User avatar
al coholic
 
Posts: 7823
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:04 pm
Location: NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby ag9111 on Mon May 28, 2012 6:40 pm

al coholic wrote:
Cowboy Dave wrote:Depends on the canopy - I can fit my arm in the gap between mine and the cab so those little aerials would fit - not sure whether that will be the same with this one. Query though whether putting it too close to the back of the cab will reduce the effectiveness of the aerials?

What brand of canopy are we talking?

I actually just thought of the interference factor too........probably not the best solution?? Although the whole car is metal isnt it :lol: So how much difference does it make??


Massive. You would probably have reception to the end of the bonnet only
I love cats, but I couldn't eat a full one!

Mud is like unprotected sex
30 secs of fun for a lifetime of grief
User avatar
ag9111
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Wollongong, NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby MN GLXR on Mon May 28, 2012 8:31 pm

You really need the antenna in "free space" to work well. Otherwise it can become directional and / or deaf.

What about a short flexi rubber ducky style antennas? They are about 30cm tall and will bend 90 deg if height is a problem.

Otherwise mount some brackets to each side of the canopy.
User avatar
MN GLXR
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby 4wd26 on Tue May 29, 2012 6:38 am

brackets and/or extension poles on the rear bumper.
you can get into the steel brace for more strength less movement and better mounting.

would have to extend cables.

further benifit would be to act as reversing locators for the extra long MN tub :mrgreen:
Getting Out There
Sucks to be you, glad I bought a 3.2 :o
User avatar
4wd26
Moderator
 
Posts: 8278
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: Bayside Bundy and Monto

HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby mattz on Tue May 29, 2012 7:01 am

Unfortunately the places you don't want to put them are some of the most practical for signal.
If its a visual thing......have you thought about mounting them where you don't want them and unscrewing the aerials when not in use?
THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A MAN AND A BOY IS
THE PRICE OF HIS TOYS
User avatar
mattz
 
Posts: 7101
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:26 pm
Location: Mornington Peninsula vic

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Lee-thal on Tue May 29, 2012 8:49 am

Thanks For the Responses guys,

Its a Genuine Canopy going on (yeah yeah i know, but in my position it pays to use genuine and the price was right)

I was looking at it last night and the only option i see is the bonnet, or fabricating some brackets to mount to the side of the canopy.

I cant change the aerials especially the VHF as they are specifically tuned for the unit thats in the car.

Once the Canopy goes on i will look further into my options.

Cheers Guys,

Lee
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am

HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby big_bob_thefirst on Tue May 29, 2012 10:50 am

Lee, Motoz has mounted it to his awning. That may b a bit high for u but he moved his from the rollbar to the awning. I'm sure there's a pic in his build thread.
I feel sorry for people who don't drink...
When they wake up in the morning, that's the best they're going to feel all day.
User avatar
big_bob_thefirst
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:18 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby helicoptercow on Tue May 29, 2012 12:04 pm

do you mind if a little bit of the arial is in view? Otherwise the lower cross member of the nudge bar might be an option similar to how geek use to mount his

Click to view larger picture

"it's so much easier to apologise rather than ask for permission" - gutters

The Cattle Truck

"Wool-Wheat" = Cotton. Warm like wool, but grows like wheat

User avatar
helicoptercow
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:01 pm
Location: Medowie, Newcastle

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Lee-thal on Tue May 29, 2012 2:36 pm

Dont mind that COW, BUT the problem is becasue the Base Height would be so low it wont give that Great a Reception. For me the Transmission doesnt matter because the unit transmits at 50 watts, But receiving the reception wouldnt be that great.

Bob, Yeah a little to high for my liking, I thought about putting them on fold down brackets, But then i would get lazy and end up braking them off on a Carpark ETC. Even as they are now they touch in most carparks, but they are flexible enough that it doesnt matter.

I think i am doomed to the mounting on the Bonnet on the Z brackets. I Am contemplating a Bull bar and would relocate there if that happens.

Cheers Lee
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Custom Offroad on Tue May 29, 2012 3:09 pm

On a completely unrelated topic...I am pretty sure I saw you going north on the Bruce Highway around 2pm near Burpengary. I saw an Ironbark MN with the Narva 225's but it had a canopy so I wasn't sure if it was you!

With the aerial's just mount them on the bonnet then shift to a bull bar when you get one. Much easier!
Bash Plates and other cool gear from Prestige Offroad accessories......

viewforum.php?f=80
User avatar
Custom Offroad
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:38 pm
Location: Red Hill Brisbane

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Lee-thal on Tue May 29, 2012 3:51 pm

Hey Mitch, Nah the Canopy isnt on yet and My 225's are currently in Melbourne getting the cases Replaced, THANKS NARVA

I think thats the way i am gonna have to go, No other choice unfortunately.

Cheers Lee
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby MN GLXR on Tue May 29, 2012 4:28 pm

I once saw a Holden ute with a pneumatic scissor arm to fold over the antenna mounted on the roll bar ;)
User avatar
MN GLXR
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Thommo3337 on Tue May 29, 2012 7:59 pm

Yeah my mate had some air actuators for his spottys when he went in to carparks etc they folded back! He used it when a copper pulled him over for the spotties on the roof facing forward supposed to be illegal? And he just flicke the switch and pulled them down reckons the money he forked out for them payed for them selves from the look on the coppers face!
A Heroin Addiction Would Have Been Cheaper!!
Thommo3337
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Melton

Re: Can't find it? Ask here FIRST, before you start a new th

Postby amyh4n on Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:38 am

Hi Guys

I have a question regarding Antenna

I received Antenna and I pretty much have an idea how to mount it just a bit confused how to mount on the bracket if you guys could guide me that will be great.

Photo 1 shows it comes with two washers, one bolt and one nut.

now the thing im confused is why do I need that nut and extra washer as you can see in photo 2 I can just secure the spring on the mount just by tightening the bolt through the bracket and it stays there ?

so the biggest question is where does that extra nut and washer go ?

I have attached photo 3 and photo 4 and used that small nut and washer but that does not look right so can you guys help me to understand where should that extra nut and washer go ?

The extra nut and washer that is sitting on side in photo 2 what is the logic of that ?



1---- Click to view larger picture


2-- Click to view larger picture


3-- Click to view larger picture

4-- Click to view larger picture
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby NowForThe5th on Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:59 am

It looks like the system is designed to be something like this:

Click to view larger picture

See how the antenna lead comes into the antenna through a special adaptor mounted on the top of the spring? This system isn't all that common, from what I've seen.

Generally there will be something like this:

Click to view larger picture

In this one the lead passes through the bottom and then up through the spring.

Either way, what you've pictured is incomplete, possibly so that you can make your own decisions on the type of base you want to use.
Chris

If work is so terrific, why do they have to pay us to do it?
User avatar
NowForThe5th
Moderator
 
Posts: 8638
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Holt, ACT

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby amyh4n on Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:59 am

Thank you for you reply my lead will be passing through just like the second photo you showed so seems like even if I dont use that extra nut and washer it wont make any difference?
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby RHKTriton on Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:50 am

That spring looks more at home with a HF antenna (usually longer whip).

For UHF, a simple Fibre glass 4.5 or 6.5dB whip on an insulated base is probably your simplest and most reliable option.
Don't let the b'strds get you down!!
RHKTriton
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: La trobe Valley - Gippsland

Next

Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



cron