HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Snooozy on Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:34 pm

after connecting the antenna cable to the plug you should always check there is no short between the inner & outer cable & continuity on each with a multimeter.

& yes, the plug does have to be soldered.

DO NOT try to transmit before these things are done or you have a high chance of damaging the radio
User avatar
Snooozy
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 3844
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:27 am
Location: Victoria


 

HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby godzilla_rising on Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:10 am

I was always of the opinion that you never cut the antenna cable, even if it was too long. I just bundled line up and tucked it up behind the glovebox.
Godzilla Rising

"Kate's Dirty Sister" click here
2007 3.2 DiD GLX-R

There are two kinds of people in this world, those that can extrapolate from incomplete data.
User avatar
godzilla_rising
 
Posts: 1027
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby amyh4n on Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:03 pm

So I managed to wire it again at least im hearing people now on Channel 3 now I think it is a repeater channel. but anyways since my UHF unit is in that plastic slot and whenever I hear someone I get that annoying plastic rattling sound because UHF IS sitting inside that plastic spot . Just wondering would it be a good idea to put some sound deadening in side here and cover that with a piece of carpet or something from Bunnings or just connect a external speaker and keep it in front of speedometer. ?
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Naff on Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:06 pm

I would think putting anything else in the slot would just muffle the sound coming out the speaker. Those units look more like they are supposed to be external mounted. But an external speaker mounted under the dash would probably be better than in line of sight.
User avatar
Naff
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby snowman on Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:30 pm

godzilla_rising wrote:I was always of the opinion that you never cut the antenna cable, even if it was too long. I just bundled line up and tucked it up behind the glovebox.


that is what i did and it works as well or better than anyone else's i know.
This car is like a bad drug habit. It is taking all my money and time, my family are concerned, but new mods just feel sooooooo good.
User avatar
snowman
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 12031
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:59 pm
Location: Toongabbie, NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Cowboy Dave on Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:39 pm

snowman wrote:
godzilla_rising wrote:I was always of the opinion that you never cut the antenna cable, even if it was too long. I just bundled line up and tucked it up behind the glovebox.


that is what i did and it works as well or better than anyone else's i know.


Yeah, but icom radio and RFI antenna is a bit of a winning combo...
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.

The two threads I wish people would use more: thing 1 and thing 2.
User avatar
Cowboy Dave
Moderator
 
Posts: 18098
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby amyh4n on Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:02 pm

Guys this might be a stupid question but when ever people do a radio check why do they say breeke breeke radio check something like that :?

just wondering what does it mean ?
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby Naff on Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:21 pm

Breaker breaker... they are basically asking to interrupt the conversation in order to check their radio is working. It's like saying excuse me in truckie speak.
User avatar
Naff
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mountin

Postby explorer.dave on Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:24 pm

amyh4n wrote:Guys this might be a stupid question but when ever people do a radio check why do they say breeke breeke radio check something like that :?

just wondering what does it mean ?


No, break break is for multiple conversations, passing on messages etc.
Just say
"any station radio check please"
l add my suburb as well to get an idea of distance from the responder.
Better to be silent and thought a fool than open your mouth and remove all doubt.

Penrith Panthers 2018

Posts should be like mini skirts, long enough to cover the subject matter, but short enough to keep things interesting
User avatar
explorer.dave
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:32 am
Location: South Lake, Perth

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby RHKTriton on Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:21 pm

Its just 'breaker breaker, ten four, chocolate frogs and good buddies - let dem truckers roll! ' :lol:

Ah the good ole days.

I've got to turn the CB off when I hit the fringes of Berwick when heading to Melbourne these days. Morons just raving with obscenities and further in there's what seems to be some dick just trying to jamb the airways.

Sometimes I wish I had the time, directional antenna and some bored bikie mates to 'expose' some of the nuisances. :evil:
Don't let the b'strds get you down!!
RHKTriton
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4222
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: La trobe Valley - Gippsland

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby amyh4n on Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:05 pm

So what does those each term mean >?

specially breaker breaker :D
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Cowboy Dave on Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:13 pm

This is just my personal opinion, but I reckon if you're in a triton on a UHF and you start saying breaker breaker on an open channel then it probably means you're a bit of a tool. :P :lol:
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.

The two threads I wish people would use more: thing 1 and thing 2.
User avatar
Cowboy Dave
Moderator
 
Posts: 18098
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby RHKTriton on Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:01 am

X2 CD

A third party trying to let a conversation in progress know they wish to have a go doesn't really work with UHF because it uses FM. In the old 27Meg CB days transmission was with AM, allowing someone to be understood over a transmission in progress. :geek:

So Amyh, in Australia most people just use plain conversation in the CB spectrum, just wait for a pause before transmitting yourself. Most of the CB lingo comes from the USA and probably was required in a far more dense (both in population density and IQ) environment, to make the spectrum usable. :lol:

Re the coax cable, you ultimately want to keep that as short as possible and away from other cable runs, if possible. Unnecessary length is just unwanted signal loss, both ways.
Don't let the b'strds get you down!!
RHKTriton
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4222
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: La trobe Valley - Gippsland

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby amyh4n on Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:15 am

haha I actually feel like a tool now asking stupid questions sorry guys
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Naff on Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:12 pm

Wasn't a stupid question.. you hear some weird shit over the radio.
User avatar
Naff
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Cowboy Dave on Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:23 pm

Better to know than go off down the highway calling out breaker breaker wherever you go :lol:
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.

The two threads I wish people would use more: thing 1 and thing 2.
User avatar
Cowboy Dave
Moderator
 
Posts: 18098
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby amyh4n on Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:13 pm

hahahaha Dave stop pulling my leg
User avatar
amyh4n
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:36 pm

HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby GadgetMN on Thu May 26, 2016 1:25 pm

Thought I'd tack this question into an aerial thread!!

I've got two aerials I want to run off the one CB... At the moment I have a basic mount and I unscrew/screw in the aerial that best suits the application.

Next week, I'm off to Qld via the in laws and farms, hilly terrain etc, and not wanting to have to change the aerial every time (short and long)

Is this (pictured) splitter a realistic solution for running two aerials? I've seen a few on US forums doing similar, but obviously they have different frequencies, regs etc...

Thoughts welcome!
Click to view larger picture
User avatar
GadgetMN
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Macgregor, ACT

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby NowForThe5th on Thu May 26, 2016 2:37 pm

Wouldn't one of those just split the signal to both antennae at once?

What you need is a switch. Maybe Jaycar?
Chris

If work is so terrific, why do they have to pay us to do it?
User avatar
NowForThe5th
Moderator
 
Posts: 8531
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Holt, ACT

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby GadgetMN on Thu May 26, 2016 3:11 pm

NowForThe5th wrote:Wouldn't one of those just split the signal to both antennae at once?

What you need is a switch. Maybe Jaycar?


Would it cause any issues going to both?
Some of the sites note that may also increase the receiving range/area
User avatar
GadgetMN
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Macgregor, ACT

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby snakesoup on Thu May 26, 2016 3:18 pm

you can co phase antennas "run 2 together" and from memory you need what is called a diplxer, " a fancy splitter" and from what I remember, both Ariel's have to be exactly the same.
but you should research more on this as I'm scraping the depths of my memory, easiest and cheapest way is as nftf said and get a 2 way switchable splitter, but beware it will decrease the performance of your antenna and radio.. uhf doesnt like extra joins etc etc..
but I'm sure if research the net you will find what your looking for
cheers


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
User avatar
snakesoup
 
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby GadgetMN on Thu May 26, 2016 3:27 pm

snakesoup wrote:but I'm sure if research the net you will find what your looking for
cheers


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Will keep looking.
Everything j have found is US based re: using the same aerials and expanding. Nothing so far about what I'm hoping to do- hence my message to the Oracles of NTN
User avatar
GadgetMN
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Macgregor, ACT

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Crash486 on Thu May 26, 2016 4:51 pm

User avatar
Crash486
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:19 pm
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby ag9111 on Thu May 26, 2016 5:32 pm

Talk to these people
The experts. They will have the right gear for you

http://www.prestigecom.net.au/
I love cats, but I couldn't eat a full one!

Mud is like unprotected sex
30 secs of fun for a lifetime of grief
User avatar
ag9111
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Wollongong, NSW

Re: HELP with UHF/VHF aerial mounting

Postby Lee-thal on Mon May 30, 2016 3:33 pm

Yes you need a diplexer, i run one in mine,
User avatar
Lee-thal
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:28 am

PreviousNext

Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests