Super Select Newbie

Engines, Gearboxes, Transfers, Tailshafts, Diffs, axles and CVs

Super Select Newbie

Postby warnzie on Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:18 pm

Hi everyone, as the title says im a newbie to both 4wding and also the mitsi super select. Have just got myself a new VR ML dual cab T/D and love it - would never go back to a petrol and small car again :D

Just a quick question about the super select system, im finding it can be a real fight or pull to transfer it while driving (2h-4h and visa versa) under the 80km/h mark...Is this normal? Also sometimes when transfering while driving it can grind between the 2h - 4h and other way round as well. Any comments would be great as to my basic knowledge maybe its the nature of the beast.

Thanks

Warnzie
warnzie

Re: Super Select Newbie

Postby daryn on Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:28 pm

You must only change when not accelerating ie. take your foot off the pedal. Also, mine now has about 9000K's and is really easy to change now because as soon as it rains I use it so it has had some use, that also shows that Newcastle gets rain unlike other areas. In summary, stiff at first but gets better.

Oh, First Post, welcome warnzie.
daryn
Valued Contributor

Postby FreestyleCab on Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:41 pm

Bastards,

Wish I had superselect.....

Welcome Warnzie.....no more talk of superselect please, unless you can hide the message thread from all us easyselect owners! ;) ;)

I have no idea what you do in the auto, I guess take your foot of the go pedal and make the change.
For the manual I always push the clutch in to engage 4wd.
Brett
FreestyleCab

Postby warnzie on Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:43 pm