Electric Thermo Fans on 4D56.

Engines, Gearboxes, Transfers, Tailshafts, Diffs, axles and CVs

Electric Thermo Fans on 4D56.

Postby Pet3R on Sun Jun 27, 2021 9:39 am

Hi All,
Apol if this is covered, I’ve seen references to the viscous-coupled engine fan and its function/issues/impacts.
I’ve searched, including the ‘references’ page.
I see the discussion on the harness connectors for a thermo-fan option for the aircon condenser.

As for the main engine thermo fan - has anyone installed a pair of electric thermo fans to the back of the radiator (with or without panel shroud), and thereby enabling removal of the factory fan?
If so, most likely with an independent temp control circuit?

I’m new to diesels, and frankly to see a thermo-fan driven by the engine on a 2014 vehicle amazes me (in a what-decade-was-this-thing-designed-in way). It’s either a function of cost, or there’s an actual mechanical design reason for it that I cannot (yet) fathom.

Peter
Pet3R

Re: Electric Thermo Fans on 4D56.

Postby DibbyDibbyDJ on Sun Jun 27, 2021 11:31 am

The fan on the Triton works perfectly well, its still used on MR triton and pajero sport.

Modifying the cooling system on a 4D56 is asking for trouble, taking in to account that engines history with overheating related issues.
2024 Outlander

mitsubishi-forums.com
DibbyDibbyDJ

Postby NowForThe5th on Sun Jun 27, 2021 3:02 pm

Pet3R wrote:has anyone installed a pair of electric thermo fans to the back of the radiator (with or without panel shroud),

Yes, it's been tried. In all the cases that I'm aware of there were problems getting enough air flow. The standard fan may be agricultural but it moves lots of air.

Pet3R wrote:to see a thermo-fan driven by the engine on a 2014 vehicle amazes me (in a what-decade-was-this-thing-designed-in way)

1897, I believe. As Dibby says, it works. There are lots of other, more productive and satisfying things to spend your money on.
Chris