Fitting an Elec fan on Intercooler

Fitting an Elec fan on Intercooler

Postby trickydevil on Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:56 pm

I've been discussing with Sheepo as to the best way to do this. I have found that since istalling my Bullbar the airflow has decreased to the intercooler and it doesn't seem to have as much power. Thought about installing a elec fan to the rear of the intercooler. Sheepo says they're about $30 on ebay.
The question left is how to wire it up. My thought was to have an override switch in the cab and generally have the on/off to the relay coming from the park lights. That way when the park lights are on it's running, but when you switch off the ute and lock it the lights turn off and then so does the fan and if driving at night and doing highway speeds you can switch the isolater in the ute off so it isn't running.
I'm a surveyor not an auto electrician. Does this seem like the right way to go??????? :? :? :?
trickydevil

Re: Fitting an Elec fan on Intercooler

Postby Naff on Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:13 pm

Probably best just to hook it up to the accessories circuit with an override switch. From ACCESSORIES supply, go to one side of switch, otherside of switch to coil of an automotive relay, then to negative/chassis. Another wire from BATTERY positive to relay contact, other side of contact to positive fan supply, negative side of fan to chassis.

See sketch...
DOC210808-0001.jpg

This way, it is on when the accessories are on and switch is on (and always on when engine running - lights or not). If you were parked up and just listening to the radio for a long period of time (without engine running) just flick the switch off.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Naff
Platinum Subscriber

Postby trickydevil on Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:21 pm

Thank's. That's gold. Hopefully I'll get time in the coming weeks to get one and hook it up.
trickydevil

Postby timothy on Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:06 pm