Whirring/Grinding/Rattle? noise normal?

Whirring/Grinding/Rattle? noise normal?

Postby Dark_Angel85 on Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:31 pm

Hi all,

I'm very new to this forum and I own a 4-5 month old brand new Triton VGT 2014 model. I'm from Malaysia by the way. The reason I decided to start a new thread is because searching through forums and Google didn't seem of much help .

I hope the title is quite clear about the condition of my Triton. I'm new to pickups and therefore am wondering if it's just me being sensitive or the Triton is not supposed to have a whirring/Grinding/rattle/buzzing noise when I decelerate and quickly reaccelerate back. The noise happens just for a short while and even the SC couldn't determine what it was. They've ruled out that it's an scv issue. I do feel like fc has increased ever since i noticed this which is after the first service of 1000kms. However, the noise does not repeat consistently. Sometimes i can recreate the sound but sometimes it doesn't happen.

Is this normal? What should I look out for to tell the SC?

THANKS for all of your time and advice

EDIT:
I hope this video/audio showcases the sound... quite difficult to hear amidst the road noise because of the roads here... though bitumen but not smooth thus the road noise. I purposely recorded the meters as well to show you exactly when I decelerate and immediate acceleration would recreate the noise (00:09 seconds and 00:27 seconds are a little more prominent)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cnKBDA ... e=youtu.be

This second video should be a little clearer at 00:04 - 00:06 seconds
https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=you ... 2iTQVil1hQ
Last edited by Dark_Angel85 on Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:54 am, edited 4 times in total.
Dark_Angel85

Re: Whirring/Grinding/Rattle? noise normal?

Postby Cowboy Dave on Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:36 pm

Can you record the noise on a phone?
The Hitchhiker's guide to the the Triton universe and NTN.

A how to on finding your own way - search me.