New Wheels and Tyres for 07 GLX

Need something to get you rolling?

New Wheels and Tyres for 07 GLX

Postby Raz89 on Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:34 pm

Hey guys

I'm a newbie to all this 4WD tyre mumbo jumbo :oops: , and I wanted to replace my wheels and tyres soon. At the moment they are the stockers (205/80/16.. if I am correct). I'm not really looking for more tyre diameter, just tread width. Do you know what size I can go to legally and without rubbing on anything (which I doubt will happen because only slight diameter increase). I have started looking intensively on the net at sizes but most the typical sizes are not compatible (according to the tyre size comparison tool mention in the 'Tyre size legality' thread). Sorry for my incompetence this is just my first 4-by and don't want to F it up. The local police don't like me as it is being a small town, so gotta stay legal too :roll: . Feel free to correct me if any of the above is wrong, I'm not worried by constructive criticsm and I am here to learn.

Cheers Jarrod
P.s. Sorry for the long post.
The man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of someone to blame it on.

"Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."
Raz89

Re: New Wheels and Tyres for 07 GLX

Postby Homer on Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:11 pm

Hey mate, lots of people having issues finding 'legal' tyres for these suckers.

There's a thread about new QLD laws maybe coming in Jan allowing larger tyres, but I'm not certain if or when that will happen. I think the thread may be 'factory donuts" if you want to have a quick search.

If the coppers are bothering you, why don't you bug out to Ayre or somewhere miles away? They'd never find you there and I heard the coppers are much more easy going! :lol:

On a more intelligent note, I think GLX-R' 16" came in 245's which I would think should mean you could go wider if your rims allow????