Very close shave

What were your warranty claims and recall information

Very close shave

Postby GLX_Rtist on Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:48 pm

Hi all,

I need advice. I am not a mechanic and pretty much don't have a mechanical bone in my body. What I do have, though, is a very strong desire to ensure that I get exactly what I am entitled to relating to what I would consider to be a fairly major 'moment' I had in my '09 GLX-R with 36000ish kms on it two days ago.

I found myself cruising along the highway with the cruise control set at about 110 when all of a sudden I started to hear some significant engine noise coupled with the largest plume of smoke one is likely to see coming out of my exhaust. First reaction was to 'turn off' cruise control and pull over to assess the issue. Unfortunately the cruise control decided it didn't want to release and the vehicle in fact wanted to speed up. This, naturally, caused the old heart rate to rise a bit. Throwing the vehicle into neutral worked and I was able to bring myself to a stop on the side of the road. Turning the key off had little effect on the engine. It worked momentarily with the engine almost coming to a stop before kicking back to life on its own and roaring for another 20-30secs. Luckily plan B worked as I threw her into 1st gear and conducted an engine stall.

Roadside assistance man noted extremely high oil levels in reservoir coupled with oil in the air filter.He said I was extremely lucky to be able to get the engine to stop at all. Vehicle was towed back to dealership who had a look at it and said the diesel common rail had blown, forcing diesel into the oil reservoir which set off the chain reaction resulting in the engine going into a frenzy.