Evlids Build thread and other inventions

Want to show off what you've done to your rig? or have a custom project to show? Post it up here!

Evlids Build thread and other inventions

Postby evlids on Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:06 pm

I figure it's probably about time to start up a build thread for My triton,

Bit about myself, I'm a mechanic by trade but haven't been on the tools for a fair while. As my mates say I' addicted to tinkering with everything and am a bit of a Macguyver, If I see it I can make it, or something that does the job

I picked up an 08 glxr 3.2 diesel about 6 moths ago,
The ute was set up for mine work so it came with a internal roll cage and arb bullbar.

Click to view larger picture

First this was fitting my lightbar which somehow magically mounted flush between the uprights on the bullbar.

The next day I fitted 2" lift extra weight front springs with raw shocks up front and new raw shocks in the rear. These are very soft onroad but offroad work amazingly. With the lift in on went some 275/65s and a bit of paint on the rims.

Next up I painted the sportsbar on the tray and fitted a gme tx3220 uhf that I had from another car.

Somewhere in there I picked up a snorkel from 4wdsupacentre and fitted it, never EVER EVER playing that game again. If you haven't yet fitted a snorkel my suggestion is to get someone else to do it.

Next mod was the dual battery set up. I do a fair bit of camping so I wanted to be able to make the second battery portable.. After a few late nights and a few too many beers I cam up with this:

Couldnt afford a Ark Powerpak so I went down and picked up a marine battery box ($15), and had an old jumpstarter pack in the garage that had dies that I pulled the voltmeter and heavy duty switch from. I hardwired a pair of 12v sockets ontop to plug in the led lighting and put an anderson plug on the side.