Scanguage with MQ

Anything Triton 2016+ related

Scanguage with MQ

Postby jerrah on Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:00 am

Scanguage doesn't list the MQ as a supported model - has anyone had success with data and clearing codes with the scanguage II and the MQ triton?
User avatar
jerrah
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:40 pm
Location: Australia


 

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby NowForThe5th on Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:28 am

OBDII is an international standard, just like most of the codes used. The Scangauge will connect and work, just as it will on any other new model introduced since about 2003 here in Australia, much earlier in the US.
Chris

If work is so terrific, why do they have to pay us to do it?
User avatar
NowForThe5th
Moderator
 
Posts: 8558
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Holt, ACT

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby jerrah on Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:56 am

User avatar
jerrah
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:40 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Sandstorm76 on Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:18 pm

I have the ultraguage and am very happy.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
Sandstorm76
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Stazza_Brendan on Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:07 pm



I have this in my 16 Exceed and it works fine. I just leave it on gauges. Originally had it in a 2012 SR5 Hilux.
2016 - Triton Exceed. Titanium
Stazza_Brendan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:12 am
Location: Mackay, QLD

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby shortSteve on Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:07 pm

Does the Scanguage 2 in the MQ read Automatic Transmission Temps? I have seen the x-guage codes for mn/challenger autos but says the same code mq is still being tested?

edit: also see that the new Hilux with DPF has an EGT monitor probe that can be read by the SC2. Does anyone with a MQ/Pajero Sport no if there is a EGT probe post turbo and if so, can the sc2 read it? Would save a heap of money on aftermarket gauges...

Thanks in advance.

sS
shortSteve
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Sky Miner on Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:53 pm

shortSteve wrote:Does the Scanguage 2 in the MQ read Automatic Transmission Temps? I have seen the x-guage codes for mn/challenger autos but says the same code mq is still being tested?


Yea they work ;) I've put the codes on my scanguage and it's showing the AT temp's on my MQ
This one here: http://scangauge.com.au/x-gauge-commands/
Ever noticed if somebody is driving slower than you is an idiot,
and anyone going faster than you is also an idiot?
Sky Miner
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:32 pm
Location: Darwin N.T

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby bigboots on Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:10 pm

The guage may work but it's interesting that the website still states : 2016 MQ Triton untested as of 20/08/15 – feedback required
bigboots
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby shortSteve on Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:31 pm

Sky Miner wrote:
shortSteve wrote:Does the Scanguage 2 in the MQ read Automatic Transmission Temps? I have seen the x-guage codes for mn/challenger autos but says the same code mq is still being tested?


Yea they work ;) I've put the codes on my scanguage and it's showing the AT temp's on my MQ
This one here: http://scangauge.com.au/x-gauge-commands/


Cheers for the info :)

sS
shortSteve
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby harmigera on Tue May 09, 2017 11:58 am

[quote="Sandstorm76"]I have the ultraguage and am very happy.

Does the ultraguage give ATF temp? They offer a wireless version that displays on your smart phone for around US$100 delivered. I should then be able to plug the unit into the OBDII port and display the ultraguage readings on the touchscreen using the smartphone display audio feature in the new MQ with the phone plugged into the usb. Will this work?
harmigera
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 6:03 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby TUFF TROOP on Fri May 12, 2017 3:37 pm

Scangauge and ultra gauge work fine on mq i have had both
User avatar
TUFF TROOP
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Neverrest on Fri May 12, 2017 4:22 pm

Does anyone know what the difference between Scangauge and EDS is? Is it that you can change colours?
The EDS unit is under $90 and looks very similar. Mine works great
Neverrest
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby shortSteve on Fri May 12, 2017 4:52 pm

Neverrest wrote:Does anyone know what the difference between Scangauge and EDS is? Is it that you can change colours?
The EDS unit is under $90 and looks very similar. Mine works great


Eds will not do auto tranny temps, but will read the same basics as a scangauge, eg water temp, boost, inlet air temp, volts etc. I used an eds on my manual mn, now run a scanguage on the auto challenger. Worth the extra $$ imho

sS
shortSteve
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Neverrest on Fri May 12, 2017 4:57 pm

shortSteve wrote:Eds will not do auto tranny temps, but will read the same basics as a scangauge, eg water temp, boost, inlet air temp, volts etc. I used an eds on my manual mn, now run a scanguage on the auto challenger. Worth the extra $$ imho

sS


Cheers sS,

I didn't know about transmission temps... I'm keen on that info!
Might grab one and eBay mine.
Neverrest
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby snakesoup on Fri May 12, 2017 6:08 pm

short Steve, why is it worth the extra coin ?
User avatar
snakesoup
 
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby shortSteve on Wed May 17, 2017 4:06 pm

snakesoup wrote:short Steve, why is it worth the extra coin ?


For me, the ability to monitor transmission temps. Much cheaper than an auxillary guage and wiring/fitting...

sS
shortSteve
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby NowForThe5th on Wed May 17, 2017 5:53 pm

There are a few clones of the Scangauge. If the EDS unit is one then you may just need the right codes to be able to read and display things like transmission temperatures. There is a thread on Scangauge codes.
Chris

If work is so terrific, why do they have to pay us to do it?
User avatar
NowForThe5th
Moderator
 
Posts: 8558
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 pm
Location: Holt, ACT

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Ray57MQ on Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:36 am

Requesting some help guys..looking at buying a unit for the MQ as my previous one used for the XR6 not compatible...
Came across this unit http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/VIECAR-Bluet ... Sw1LRZugyN anyone had any experience with this product ?

Or is the Scanguage still the popular/reliable unit ?
Don’t take life so seriously, it isn’t permanent
Ray57MQ
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:19 pm
Location: Mid Nth Coast NSW

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby ra0231 on Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:33 pm

hi all,

i have a triton mq and a scangauge, i have put the xgauge codes into the device for auto trans temp. but it shows no reading. Anyone had this problem.
ra0231
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:28 pm

Re: Scanguage with MQ

Postby Sky Miner on Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:51 pm

Mines working fine' just re-check the codes you entered you only need to be one number or letter out n nothing will show up.
Ever noticed if somebody is driving slower than you is an idiot,
and anyone going faster than you is also an idiot?
Sky Miner
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:32 pm
Location: Darwin N.T


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest